Copland: The Populist

Album Description

The year 2000 marks the centenary for Aaron Copland, and what better conductor to bring his best-loved Americana compositions into the next millennium than Michael Tilson Thomas? On his follow-up to 1996's Copland: The Modernist disc, the forward-thinking conductor leads the San Francisco Symphony through Billy the Kid, Appalachian Spring, and Rodeo--three well-worn compositions steeped in Americana and virtually owned by Leonard Bernstein on a now legendary single disc. But Tilson Thomas doesn't try to compete with Bernstein, instead giving these works an inventive, impressionistic reading all his own. He adds a noirish color to the introduction of Billy the Kid, a perfect contrast to the work's folksier elements. On the opening of Appalachian Spring, Tilson Thomas's unhurried timings create a sense of suspense (not bad for a work we've all heard dozens of times!). And, thanks to great recording techniques by RCA Victor, Rodeo is a rollicking good time that you'll want to crank up on the stereo. Sure, we've all heard these pieces before, but Tilson Thomas makes them sound fresh again. Great stuff. --Jason Verlinde

Product Details

  • Publication Date: 2000-05-16
  • Publisher: RCA
  • Product Group: Music
  • Manufacturer: RCA
  • Binding: Audio CD
  • Item Dimensions:
    • Dimensions: 550L x 550W x 25H
    • Weight: 16
  • Package Dimensions:
    • Dimensions: 555L x 497W x 54H
    • Weight: 18
  • Model Number: 2025959
  • UPC: 090266351121
  • ASIN: B00004SSDL

Buying Options

Sold by Usually ships in 24 hours

Customer Reviews