Oscar's Orchestra 1: Intro to Classical Music for Children

Album Description

In the future music is banned. A cruel dictator called Thadius Vent is determined to silence all symphonies, harmonies, lullabies and melodies. But the muted instruments are fighting back via the tenacious leadership of a flying grand piano called Oscar and his walking, talking orchestra of friends. Oscar was actually discovered in Mr. Crotchet's Curiosity Shop by Mr. Crotchet's wily daughter Rebecca. Amongst the recruitments to Oscar's Resistance Movement are Trevor the Tuba, Eric the Triangle, Sylvia the Flute and Monty the Violin. They combine their musical talents to fight back against Thadius and his henchmen Lucius and Tank.

Based on an idea by Jan Younghusband, Oscar's Orchestra was designed to inspire children with the delights of classical music and incorporates famous orchestrated works from the great composers in each episode. Episode titles continue the theme. Hence we have the likes of 'Oscar Cracks A Nut' and 'Bach To The Future'. 'Oscar's Orchestra' has an adult attraction too, in the form of the late great Dudley Moore. Dudley, of course, is latterly famous for his classical skills with the Grand Piano and is perfectly cast as the voice of Oscar.

Product Details

  • Publication Date: 2010-11-16
  • Publisher: Kultur Video
  • Product Group: DVD
  • Manufacturer: Kultur Video
  • Binding: DVD
  • Brand: Kulter
  • Features:
    • ISBN: 978-0-7697-9020-6
    • Color
    • Running Time: 295 minutes
    • Sound: Dolby 2.0
    • Composer/Author: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Item Dimensions:
    • Dimensions: 750L x 550W x 50H
    • Weight: 26
  • Package Dimensions:
    • Dimensions: 710L x 542W x 58H
    • Weight: 18
  • List Price: $19.99
  • UPC: 032031468191
  • ASIN: B0043988M6

Buying Options

Sold by Amazon.com: Usually ships in 24 hours

Customer Reviews