Primary tabs

Viennese Masterpieces on Saturday

405 Shrader

405 Shrader Viennese Masterpieces on Saturday

The Vinifera Trio (violin, clarinet, piano) in an evening of Viennese masterpieces — Anton Webern’s Quartet opus 22 (with added saxophone!), a birthday present to his friend, architect Adolf Loos, plus his Variations for Piano opus 27 (one of his major instrumental works and his only work for solo piano), The Adagio from Alban Berg's Kammerkonzert (the solo violin exploits its near-total expressive resources), and his exquisite miniatures, Four Pieces for Clarinet and Piano (that Schoenberg hated), and finally Schoenberg's miniature masterpiece, Six Little Pieces for Piano (composed the same year as Berg's clarinet miniatures).

The Vinifera Trio is comprised of clarinetist Matthew Boyles who has played in the Philadelphia, New Haven and Louisville symphony orchestras, Ian Scarfe of the Trinity Alps Chamber Players, and violinist Rachel Patrick who has served as concertmaster of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival Orchestra (Germany) and the Bloomington and Birmingham symphony orchestras.

Buy Tickets



Ian Scarfe


Matthew Boyles