Primary tabs

Free Event

The Seven Last Words of Christ, by Joseph Haydn

Alexander String Quartet

Alexander String Quartet The Seven Last Words of Christ, by Joseph Haydn

This celebrated ensemble will perform Joseph Haydn’s “The Seven Last Words of Christ,” the composer’s reflection on Good Friday, with verse readings by Dean Emeritus Alan Jones.

“The Seven Last Words of Christ” was commissioned in 1786 for the Good Friday service at Oratoria de la Santa Cueva (Holy Cave Oratory) in Cadiz, Spain. The seven main meditative sections – labelled “sonatas” and all slow – are framed by a slow Introduction and a fast “Earthquake” conclusion, for a total of nine movements.

The Alexander String Quartet was formed in New York City in 1981 and captured international attention as the first American quartet to win the London International String Quartet Competition in 1985. The group has performed in the major music capitals of five continents, securing its standing among the world’s premier ensembles and is a major artistic presence in its home base of San Francisco.

Buy Tickets