Primary tabs

Family Friendly

Chamber IV: Beethoven & Brahms

Berkeley Symphony

Berkeley Symphony  Chamber IV: Beethoven & Brahms

Fourth in the Berkeley Symphony's Chamber Series of the 2018-19 season is Beethoven & Brahms, opening with Ludwig van Beethoven's Piano Trio in D major, "Ghost" and concluding with Johannes Brahms' Piano Quintet in F minor. Accompanying artists include René Mandel, Executive Director of the Berkeley Symphony on violin, Yuna Lee on violin, Sébastien Gingras on cello, and Mari Kodama on piano.

An accomplished violinist, René Mandel was a member of the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra from 1983-1994, and an active musician in the Hollywood studio industry from 1985-2009. His solo appearances include performances with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, New Century Chamber Orchestra, and San Francisco Ballet Orchestra, among others. In addition, he has performed with San Francisco Symphony, San Francisco Opera, and Los Angeles Opera. He began his relationship with Berkeley Symphony in 2006 as Artistic Administrator, Orchestra Manager, and Principal Second Violin. In these roles he elevated the quality of the orchestra by recruiting high-caliber musicians, hiring soloists, and managing concert repertoire.

Buy Tickets


Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Trio in D major, "Ghost"

Johannes Brahms

Piano Quintet in F minor


Yuna Lee