Critics Pick

The Rebels

Berkeley Symphony

Berkeley Symphony  The Rebels

A champion of the newest voices of contemporary music, Berkeley Symphony introduces the bold and eclectic work of 21-year-old Dylan Mattingly, whom John Adams describes as “a hugely talented young composer who writes music of wild imagination and vigorous energy.” Pianist Shai Wosner, a daring virtuoso, performs one of the 20th century’s most complex and demanding scores by György Ligeti. In contrast to the rhythmical Piano Concerto, Schumann’s Symphony No. 2 is both passionate and exuberant. It’s a program that exhibits the power of past inspiration and fresh talent.

Buy Tickets


Dylan Mattingly

New Work (World Premiere Commission)

György Ligeti

Piano Concerto


Symphony No. 2 in C Major, Op. 61


More About This Event

SFCV Previews
December 4, 2012

Berkeley Symphony and their music director, Joana Carneiro deeply engage contemporary symphonic music in all its diversity. 

More »

Artist Spotlights
December 4, 2012

Composers/conductors/teachers Dylan Mattingly and Matthew Cmiel riff on working with friends, despite being on opposite coasts.

More »