Primary tabs

Family Friendly

Third Thursdays - a virtual house concert with Julia Mirzoev, violin

California Music Center

California Music Center Third Thursdays - a virtual house concert with Julia Mirzoev, violin

THIRD THURSDAYS are brand-new, streamed concerts featuring recent Klein Competition prizewinners - the classical superstars of tomorrow - with live post-show artist conversations.

Toronto-born violinist Julia Mirzoev is a 2020 graduate of the Yale School of Music, earning a Masters in Music, and the Broadus Earle graduating prize. She studied with Ani Kavafian, and completed her bachlelor's degree studying with Jonathan Crow at the University of Toronto. Featured as one of CBC's "Top Classical Musicians Under 30", Julia's warm tone, grace, and fierce attack mark her as a young violinist to watch.

Awards include top prizes at the 2019 Klein Competition, Montreal Symphony Competition, and grand prize at the Canadian Music Competition. Julia has also performed solo with the Scarborough Philharmonic, Sinfonia Toronto, Canadian Sinfonetta, Chinese Arts Society of Toronto Orchestra, University of Toronto and Toronto Symphonies, and Orchestra Toronto. As a chamber musician, Julia has been a winner at the Yale Chamber Music Competiton and been invited to the Sarasota, Manchester, Aspen, Toronto, Perlman, Colorado College and Yellow Barn Music Festivals.

Most recently, Julia has joined Montreal-based Persée String Quartet, where she will be studying with Andrew Wan at McGill University.

While we can't present our beloved house concerts in-person this season, we can bring them to homes around the world. All streams at 5PM PT (8PM ET).

Access to the concert will be by ticket donation. Suggested Minimum is $20 - give what you can - your donation will directly support these young artists. Buyers will receive a private link to the concert 48 hours in advance.

Buy Tickets



Violin Sonata No. 7 in C minor, Op. 30, no. 2

Serge Arcuri

Soliloque No. 2 for solo violin

Fréderic Chopin

Nocturne in C-sharp minor Op.posth. (arranged by Nathan Milstein)

Eugène Ysaye/Saint Saens

Caprice-Valse d’après l’étude