Primary tabs

Free Event

2020 Fall Season: Music for the Times

Community Concerts at Epworth

Community Concerts at Epworth 2020 Fall Season: Music for the Times

Each concert in our 2020 Fall Season includes a tribute to Ludwig van Beethoven, born 250 years ago in December 1770. Our first offering is the Judas Maccabaeus Variations, composed during a visit to Berlin early in Beethoven's career. There, he composed his first cello sonatas along with this work, based on a theme from Handel's Oratorio.

We welcome internationally known cellist, Peter Myers, assistant principal of the San Francisco Opera orchestra and a founding member of the SAKURA cello quintet. He is joined by pianist Robert Mollicone, a veteran of numerous opera productions and a frequent collaborator with soloists on the concert stage.

Our Fall Season performances are streamed live from our concert venue. Watch and listen at 4:00PM Sunday on the Community Concerts website:
and on Facebook:

The concert series is a community service of Epworth United Methodist Church of Berkeley, a Reconciling Congregation committed to justice for all people.

  • Venue: Online
  • Date: Sun November 8, 2020 4:00pm
  • City:
  • Email: [email protected]
  • Price Range: Donation
  • Tickets: 510-725-5329


Ludwig van Beethoven

Judas Maccabaeus Variations

Benjamin Britten

Four Irish Folksongs

Olivier Messiaen

Louange à l'Éternité de Jésus (from Quartet for the End of Time)

Claude Debussy

Sonata for Cello and Piano