Thoroughly Modern Music

Community Music Center

Community Music Center  Thoroughly Modern Music

Bay Area musicians Aaron Priskorn, Stephanie Lynne Smith and Grace Renaud combine to present an evening of music from the modern repertoire. Trumpeter Priskorn presents solo works, the Halsey Stevens "Sonata for Trumpet and Piano" with Smith, as well as loop station originals. Smith and Renaud combine for the Bay Area premiere of Joe Giarrusso's "Un Jardin en Givenchy" for four-hands. Works by Jack Curtis Dubowsky and Kathleen McGuire are featured alongside excerpts of David Samas' new opera "The Green Wood" scheduled for March 22-24 2013 at Shotwell Studios. "The Green Wood" is presented by guest soprano Laurie Amat. The evening culminates with a combined loop station creation.

Friends and colleagues, Priskorn and Smith hold degrees from the San Francisco Conservatory of Music and Renaud holds degrees from Mills College. Presented in two acts at the Community Music Center on Capp Street, this concert explores fresh repertoire, both solo and chamber works, and the possibilities of the loop station.

This concert is appropriate for all ages. Public transportation strongly recommended.

$25 Support the Arts
$20 General
$15 Discount


Halsey Stevens

Sonata for Trumpet and Piano

Joe Giarrusso

Un Jardin en Givenchy

David Samas

Arias from "The Green Wood" a (super)natural opera


Aaron Priskorn

Soloist, Trumpet

Stephanie Lynne Smith

Soloist, Piano

Grace Renaud

Soloist, Piano

Laurie Amat

Soloist, Soprano

David Samas

Composer, Baratone