Primary tabs

Global Brain Health Institute UnRavelled

The Global Brain Health Institute presents the virtual premiere of UnRavelled, a new play about love, art and who we are on the most profound level.

Based on true events and incorporating research and interviews conducted by Broder as a Hellman Visiting Artist at UCSF’s Memory and Aging Center, UnRavelled explores the fascinating connection between the work of Canadian painter Anne Adams (1940–2007) and French composer Maurice Ravel (1875–1937), both of whom lived with the same rare brain disease.

These two special screenings of UnRavelled are followed immediately by live events with experts in the field, including Memory and Aging Center director and GBHI co-director Dr. Bruce Miller, who diagnosed Adams:

Thu., February 25, 4 – 6 p.m. PST / 7 – 9 p.m. EST
Wed., March 3, 9 – 11 a.m. PST / 12 – 2 p.m. EST / 5 – 7 p.m. GMT
Live Event Details

Q&A featuring:

Jake Broder, Hellman Artist, UCSF Memory and Aging Center; Writer, UnRavelled
Nike Doukas, Director, UnRavelled
Bruce Miller, Co-Director, GBHI; Director, UCSF Memory and Aging Center
Bill Seeley, Neurologist, UCSF Memory and Aging Center
Moderated by:

Adit Friedberg, Behavioral Neurologist, Atlantic Fellow for Equity in Brain Health (Feb 25)
Francesca Farina, Neuroscientist, Atlantic Fellow for Equity in Brain Health (Mar 3)
Followed by a brief presentation on brain health by:

Magda Kaczmarska, Teaching Artist, Atlantic Fellow for Equity in Brain Health, with intergenerational professional dancers and guests (Feb 25)
Nicky Taylor, Theater & Dementia Specialist, Atlantic Fellow for Equity in Brain Health, with contributions from people living with dementia (Mar 3)
Event MC: Camellia Latta, Alumni Relations Manager, GBHI

The play begins streaming Thursday, Feb. 25 at 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET and remains available on demand at UnRavelledPlay.com through March 31.

UnRavelled

Written by Jake Broder

Directed by Nike Doukas

Starring Lucy Davenport, Conor Duffy, Melissa Greenspan, Leo Marks, Rob Nagle with narrations by Michael Lanahan

Presented by Global Brain Health Institute, based at the University of California, San Francisco; and Trinity College Dublin, the University of Dublin, Ireland

Additional Dates:
Wed March 3, 2021 9:00am
Online

Program

Performers