Primary tabs

Bay Area Spotlight: Kurt’s Farewell Tour Part Two

Left Coast Chamber Ensemble

Left Coast Chamber Ensemble Bay Area Spotlight: Kurt’s Farewell Tour Part Two

Left Coast Chamber Ensemble presents Bay Area Spotlight: Kurt’s Farewell Tour Part Two, a concert of commissioned works for viola and electronics, shining the light on a group of gifted contemporary composers including Ellainie Lillios, Tina Tallon, and Peter Van Zandt Lane, along with Rebecca Clarke’s luminous Viola Sonata from 1919. Acclaimed Bay Area composer David Conte’s Sonata for Clarinet and Piano completes the program.

Bay Area Spotlight: Kurt’s Farewell Tour Part Two is the second installment of violist and composer Kurt Rohde’s multi-year commissioning project, Kurt Rohde’s FAREWELL TOUR—Parts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6. Rohde’s farewell project involves commissioning new works featuring some of the most talented composers that he feels are underrepresented and deserve a wider audience, while also broadening the repertoire for viola. The project’s anticipated year of completion is 2028, at which time Rohde will retire from playing in performance and “donate his instrument to some talented whipper-snapper who wants to play viola.”

This concert focuses on new compositions for viola and electronics, featuring the world premieres of works by composers Elainie Lillios, Tina Tallon, and Peter Van Zandt Lane. “The medium of solo viola and electronics is vibrant and immensely rich – so much so that you have to hear to believe it,” said Kurt Rohde. “I cannot think of a better way to begin what I hope will be my own “long goodbye” by saying “hello” to these remarkable new works and bringing them to audiences.”

Rebecca Clarke’s stunning masterwork Sonata for Viola and Piano will also be performed, juxtaposing the romanticism of the early 1900’s alongside the contemporary viola works featuring electronics. “Clarke’s three movement work is on its surface cast in a conventional sonata format, familiar in scope and sound,” explained Rohde. “However, inside of this instrumental convention, she manages to reformulate and re-imagine previously unexplored approaches to what it means to create a sonata.” The result is a stunning work, teeming with vitality and innovative approaches to drama.

To complement Rohde’s commissioned works for part two of his Farewell Tour, Left Coast Chamber Ensemble focuses the Bay Area Spotlight on acclaimed local composer David Conte, presenting his Sonata for Clarinet and Piano. Conte is a well-respected composer, conductor, and choral clinician. Since 1985 he has been Professor of Composition and Conservatory Chorus conductor at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music, and Chair of the Composition Department since 2014. Conte’s Sonata for Clarinet and Piano was originally composed for Franklin Cohen, former principal clarinetist of the Cleveland Orchestra. “I’m thrilled to have my Sonata presented locally and performed by Jerome Simas and Eric Zivian,” said Conte. “Frank Cohen was Jerry’s teacher, and recommended to me immediately after the work’s premiere to send it to Jerry.” In response, Simas was eager to learn this piece to expand his own repertoire and is honored to bring Conte’s wonderful piece home to the Bay Area.

Additional Dates:
Sun March 3, 2019 7:30pm
Berkeley Hillside Club

Buy Tickets


Rebecca Clarke

Sonata for Viola and Piano

Tina Tallon

excision no. 2: they didn’t know we were seeds for Viola and Live Electronics WORLD PREMIERE

Elainie Lillios

Liquid | Crystal | Vapor for Viola and Live, Interactive Electronics WORLD PREMIERE

Peter Van Zandt Lane

Décalcomanie 2 for Viola and Electronics WORLD PREMIERE

David Conte

Sonata for Clarinet and Piano