Primary tabs

Hot Deal

Brilliant Palette

Left Coast Chamber Ensemble

Left Coast Chamber Ensemble Brilliant Palette

The Left Coast Chamber Ensemble (LCCE) presents Brilliant Palette, a concert celebrating the addition of two new members to the ensemble, soprano Nikki Einfeld and percussionist Loren Mach. LCCE is a versatile group of musicians that performs in different combinations, presenting chamber music new and old. Together the ensemble represents a vibrant collection of musical talent from which they pull to create varied works of musical art. In this concert, Brilliant Palette, Left Coast introduces its two new members, soprano Nikki Einfled and percussionist Loren Mach, and celebrates the added array of musical resources they bring to the ensemble, with lush vocal music of Fauré and Chausson, and the meditative Boris Kerner for cello and flower pots, by Caroline Shaw, along with other music for percussion and voice.

Nikki Einfeld’s vocal talent will be showcased in two French pieces for voice, string quartet, and piano by composers Chausson and Fauré, both were composed in the late 1800s and show stunning musical contrasts and commentary on the journey of love. Einfeld will also team up with percussionist Loren Mach to explore the shimmering timbres of the George Crumb Madrigals, which combines voice, vibraphone, and contrabass. “I couldn’t be more excited to be beginning my collaboration with Left Coast Chamber Ensemble with this feast of music that demonstrates the range and depth of the ensemble,” explains Einfeld.

"I have been excited to work with Nikki again ever since our rewarding collaboration together on the premiere of Kurt Rhode's opera Death with Interruptions,” said Loren Mach. “That experience together will transfer perfectly to our performance of Crumb's primitive, dark and sensuous setting of Lorca's text in Madrigals Book 1.” Mach will also be featured in Martin Matalon’s Short Stories for Vibraphone and Caroline Shaw’s Boris Kerner, a composition that employs flower pots as percussive instruments accompanied by the cello.

The concert is performed twice. The first concert will be held on Saturday, December 3 at 7:30pm, at The Hillside Club, 2286 Cedar Street, Berkeley. The program is repeated on Monday, December 5 at 7:30pm, at the Dennis Gallagher Arts Pavilion, 66 Page Street in San Francisco. For tickets and information visit

  • Venue: Hillside Club
  • Date: Sat December 3, 2016 7:30pm
  • City: Berkeley
  • Price Range: $15 to $35. 20% off tickets with the code: SFCV20.
  • Tickets: 415-617-5223
Additional Dates:
Mon December 5, 2016 7:30pm
Dennis Gallagher Arts Pavilion

Buy Tickets


Ernest Chausson

Chanson Perpétuelle, Op. 37 for Soprano, String Quartet and Piano

Caroline Shaw

Boris Kerner for Cello and Percussion

George Crumb

Madrigal I for Soprano, Vibraphone and Contrabass

Martin Matalon

Short Stories for Vibraphone

Gabriel Fauré

La Bonne Chanson, Op. 61 for Soprano, String Quartet and Piano


Loren Mach