Primary tabs

[Canceled] Alexander String Quartet 4

Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts

Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts [Canceled] Alexander String Quartet 4

The Complete Shostakovich String Quartets - Year Two

Dmitri Shostakovich
The musical career of Dmitri Shostakovich (1906–1975) mirrored exactly the rise and history of the Soviet Union from 1917 to 1975. He entered the Petrograd Conservatory at the very end of the Tsarist era; he witnessed the Revolution and began his career during Lenin’s rule; he was nearly purged twice by Stalin; he flourished under Khrushchev and died while Brezhnev was in power. Shostakovich was a survivor and a great composer, and his fear and self-loathing, his courage and experience found their way into his music. As such, Shostakovich is not just the most important composer of string quartets and symphonies from the 1920s to the 1970s; even more, he and his music stand as witnesses to the rise and failures of the Soviet Union, one of the defining events of the 20th century.

Renowned musicologist, author and composer Robert Greenberg provides commentary throughout the concert.

Additional Dates:
Sun June 7, 2020 7:00pm
Robert and Margrit Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts, UC Davis - Vanderhoef Studio Theatre

Buy Tickets



Quartet No. 14


Quartet No. 15