Primary tabs

Oakland Symphony Presents "Notes from Korea/Grieg Piano Concerto"

Oakland Symphony

Oakland Symphony Oakland Symphony Presents

Absorb the sounds of Korea. The haegeum has mesmerized for a millennium. Jean Ahn’s Concerto for this ancient folk instrument delicately spins silken lines of sound in communion with the Orchestra. Two works by Texu Kim bring the worlds of the west and Korea together, symphonic poems of this age, drawing on impressions of the past. Plus, Grieg’s beloved Piano Concerto with one of Korea’s finest keyboard artists.


Gabriel Fauré
Pavane in F sharp minor, Op. 50

Edvard Grieg
Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16

I. Allegro moderato
II. Adagio
III. Allegro moderato molto e marcato

ChangYong Shin, piano


Texu Kim

Jean Ahn
The Woven Silk for haegeum and orchestra
Soo Yeon Lyuh, haegeum

Texu Kim
Blow, Fly, Pop!!

  • Venue: Paramount Theatre
  • Date: Fri November 15, 2019 8:00pm
  • City: Oakland
  • Price Range: $25 to $90
  • Tickets: 510-444-0802

Buy Tickets