Primary tabs

Season Opening Concert

Oakland Symphony

Oakland Symphony Season Opening Concert

The evening includes the Audience Choice Winner of Shostakovich’s 5th Symphony, Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2, and three dance episodes from Bernstein’s On The Town. Canadian pianist Stewart Goodyear joins the Symphony for opening night.

This season, Oakland Symphony will explore the issues of today by remembering those lost in the tragic Ghost Ship Fire in 2016 and amplifying the voices of women across our musical landscape. Last season, the Symphony launched the groundbreaking performance series, Playlist, the annual concert inviting the major thinkers of our time to host and curate a concert, giving audiences unique insights into their passions. The first Playlist featured the musical selections from social commentator and host of CNN’s United Shades of America, W. Kamau Bell. This season presents the second installment of Playlist featuring selections from Dolores Huerta, the Mexican-American labor leader and civil rights activist who, with Cesar Chavez, co-founded the United Farm Workers. President Obama honored her with the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2012.

  • Venue: Paramount Theatre
  • Date: Fri October 12, 2018 8:00pm
  • City: Oakland
  • Price Range: $25-90
  • Tickets: 510-444-0802

Buy Tickets