Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra A Bach Christmas

Founder and director of Bach Collegium Japan, Masaaki Suzuki conducts Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra and Chorale for the first time in a joyous evening of Christmas music by Johann Sebastian Bach. Maestro Suzuki hand-picked the four brilliant soloists from his exclusive Schola Cantorum at Yale University.

This iconic program of familiar masterworks includes the Orchestral Suite No 3, best known for the lyrical “Air on a G String.” Christen, ätzet diesen Tag, Bach’s first known Christmas Cantata is paired with his later, virtuosic Magnificat; performed here in its original setting with the Christmas motets and text restored.

  • Venue: Herbst Theatre
  • Date: Fri December 14, 2012 8:00pm
  • City: San Francisco
  • Price Range: $25 to $95
  • Tickets: 4152521288
Additional Dates:
Thu December 13, 2012 8:00pm
Menlo-Atherton Performing Arts Center
Sat December 15, 2012 8:00pm
First Congregational Church - Berkeley
Sun December 16, 2012 7:30pm
First Congregational Church - Berkeley

Buy Tickets


J. S. Bach

Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D Major, BWV 1068

J. S. Bach

Cantata No. 63 Christen, ätzet diesen Tag, BWV 63

J. S. Bach

Bach - Magnificat in E-flat Major BWV 243a

More About This Event

Artist Spotlights
December 7, 2012

An internationally respected Bach specialist, on his way to Berkeley, speaks of his affinity for his music, which is hugely popular in his native Japan.

More »