Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra - The Italian Violin

Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra

Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra - The Italian Violin

Rachel Podger leads the forces of Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra from the violin on a whirlwind journey across eighteenth century Italy in this fiery set of concerti for one, two and four violins. Podger blazes through Vivaldi's Venice, Corelli's Ravenna and Pergolesi's Naples arriving triumphantly in Rome, home to Mossi and Locatelli. Along the way she is joined by Philharmonia Baroque concertmasters Elizabeth Blumenstock, Katherine Kyme and Carla Moore.

One of the most creative talents to emerge in the field of period performance, Podger was leader of The English Concert from 1997 to 2002. In 2004 Rachel began a guest directorship with The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, touring Europe and the USA. Collaborations special to her have been those with Arte dei Suonatori (Poland), Musica Angelica and Santa Fe Pro Musica (USA), The Academy of Ancient Music, The European Union Baroque Orchestra and the Holland Baroque Society (Great Britain).

Rachel Podger, violin and leader
Elizabeth Blumenstock, violin
Katherine Kyme, violin
Carla Moore, violin

CORELLI Concerto Grosso No. 1 in D major, Op. 6
VIVALDI Concerto for Violin in A major, RV 348 from La cetra, Op. 9 No. 2
MOSSI Concerto for Four Violins in G minor, Op. 4 No. 12
VIVALDI Concerto for Two Violins in A major, RV 519 from L'estro armonico, Op. 3 No. 5
PERGOLESI Concerto for Violin in B-flat major
LOCATELLI Concerto for Four Violins in F major No. 12, Op. 4

Additional Dates:
Sat March 16, 2013 8:00pm
First Congregational Church - Berkeley
Sun March 17, 2013 7:30pm
First Congregational Church - Berkeley
Wed March 20, 2013 8:00pm
Bing Concert Hall

Buy Tickets