Primary tabs

Family Friendly

Alexander String Quartet and Robert Greenberg

San Francisco Performances

San Francisco Performances Alexander String Quartet and Robert Greenberg

In celebration of Beethoven's 250th year in 2020, the Alexander String Quartet and Robert Greenberg survey Beethoven's string quartets in this audience-favorite Saturday Morning Series. Combining full performances of the Quartets with Greenberg's affable, informed and often humorous lectures about Beethoven, his world, his life and his music, these Saturday concerts are the perfect start to the weekend.

Having celebrated its 30th Anniversary in 2011, the Alexander String Quartet has performed in the major music capitals of five continents, securing its standing among the world's premiere ensembles. Widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart, and Shostakovich, the quartet's recordings of the Beethoven cycle, and the Bartok and Shostakovich cycles have all won international critical acclaim. The quartet has also established itself as an important advocate of new music through over 25 commissions from such composers as Jake Heggie, Cindy Cox, Augusta Read Thomas, Robert Greenberg, Martin Bresnick, Cesar Cano, and Pulitzer Prize-winner, Wayne Peterson. The Alexander String Quartet is a major artistic presence in its home base of San Francisco, serving since 1989 as Ensemble-in-Residence for San Francisco Performances and Directors of the Morrison Chamber Music Center in the College of Liberal and Creative Arts at San Francisco State University.

Robert Greenberg was born in Brooklyn, New York in 1954, and has lived in the San Francisco Bay Area since 1978. Greenberg has composed over fifty works for a wide variety of instrumental and vocal ensembles. Greenberg has received numerous honors, including being designated an official "Steinway Artist," three Nicola de Lorenzo Composition Prizes and three Meet-The-Composer Grants. Notable commissions have been received from the Koussevitzky Foundation in the Library of Congress, the Alexander String Quartet, the San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, San Francisco Performances, and the XTET ensemble.

Additional Dates:
Sat October 19, 2019 10:00am
Herbst Theatre
Sat January 25, 2020 10:00am
Herbst Theatre
Sat February 22, 2020 10:00am
Herbst Theatre
Sat February 29, 2020 10:00am
Herbst Theatre

Buy Tickets


Ludwig Van Beethoven

String Quartet No. 4 in C minor, Op. 18, No. 4

String Quartet No. 5 in A Major, Op. 18, No. 5

String Quartet No. 6 in B-flat Major, Op. 18, No. 6