Primary tabs

Family Friendly

[Canceled] Tabea Zimmermann and Javier Perianes

San Francisco Performances

San Francisco Performances [Canceled] Tabea Zimmermann and Javier Perianes

"Tabea Zimmermann is one of the greatest players of our time (on any instrument)" asserts London's Observer. Germany's Bayern 4 Radio added, "Discipline and freedom, dancelike rhythm and improvisatory gesture seem to balance themselves effortlessly." Her artistry is perfectly matched in the "luminosity" of Javier Perianes' playing. (London Telegraph)

Extraordinary talent, a profound understanding of music and a natural way of playing: Tabea Zimmermann is one of the leading contemporary viola players worldwide. She is in demand as soloist with such prominent orchestras as the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Orchestre de Paris, and the London Symphony Orchestra. She was able to arouse interest for the viola among many contemporary composers and introduced a number of new works into the concert and chamber music repertoire. In 1994, Gyorgy Ligeti dedicated his Sonata for solo viola to her-and this was followed by premieres of Heinz Holliger's Recicanto for Viola and Orchestra, the Viola Concerto No. 2 Uber die Linie IV by Wolfgang Rihm, Monh by Georges Lentz, Notte di pasqua by Frank Michael Beyer and Bruno Mantovani's double concerto.

The international career of Spanish pianist Javier Perianes has led him to perform in the most prestigious concert halls, with the world's top orchestras, collaborating with conductors such as Daniel Barenboim, Charles Dutoit, Lorin Maazel, Zubin Mehta, Gustavo Dudamel, Sakari Oramo, Yuri Temirkanov, Rafael Frubeck de Burgos, Long Yu, Simone Young, Vladimir Jurowski, Josep Pons, David Afkham and Daniel Harding, and appearing at festivals such as BBC Proms, Mainly Mozart, Lucerne, La Roque d'Antheron, Grafenegg, San Sebastian, Granada and Ravinia. Described by The Telegraph as "a pianist of impeccable and refined tastes, blessed with a warmth of touch", Javier Perianes was awarded the 'National Music Prize' in 2012 by the Ministry of Culture of Spain and is International Classical Music Awards (ICMA) 'Artist of the Year 2019'.

Buy Tickets


Franz Schubert

“Arpeggione” Sonata, D. 821

Johannes Brahms

Sonata No. 2 in E-flat Major, Op.120

Manuel de Falla

Seven Popular Songs

Isaac Albéniz


Heitor Villa-Lobos

Cantilena (Aria)