Critics Pick

Heras-Casado conducts Prokofiev's Fifth Symphony

San Francisco Symphony

San Francisco Symphony Heras-Casado conducts Prokofiev's Fifth Symphony

The gestations of Liszt’s concerto and Prokofiev’s symphony could not have been more different; even so, the singular result was two glorious works that are perpetual listener favorites. Liszt took 22 years to compose and revise (and revise again) his sublime, single-movement concerto, while Prokofiev finished his vivid yet deeply ironic symphony in one month. Lindberg’s EXPO, in its New York premiere, shows off the orchestra spectacularly well, a perfect concert opener.

The Thursday Matinee concerts are endowed by a gift in memory of Rhoda Goldman.

“. . . [Heras-Casado is a] superb new podium talent, with a fluidly expressive technique, a fine ear for sonorities, and suave rhythmic command.” —SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE

Additional Dates:
Thu February 14, 2013 2:00pm
Davies Symphony Hall
Fri February 15, 2013 8:00pm
Davies Symphony Hall
Sat February 16, 2013 8:00pm
Davies Symphony Hall

Buy Tickets


Magnus Lindberg

EXPO (West Coast Premiere)


Piano Concerto No. 2


Symphony No. 5

More About This Event

SFCV Previews
February 6, 2013

Pablo Heras-Casado’s mastery of contemporary-music idioms is perfect for the S.F. Symphony’s West Coast premiere of Magnus Lindberg's EXPO.

More »