MTT conducts Mozart and Bruckner: An Open Rehearsal

San Francisco Symphony

San Francisco Symphony MTT conducts Mozart and Bruckner: An Open Rehearsal

It would be hard to find two composers more unlike each other than Mozart, the prodigious prodigy, and Bruckner, whom success eluded until he was 60. Fragments of Mozart’s unfinished opera Zaïde were found after his death; thankfully these include the exquisite soprano aria, Ruhe sanft, meine holdes Leben. The premiere of Bruckner’s grand Seventh Symphony earned a 15-minute ovation. Its plaintive adagio is a tribute to his idol Richard Wagner, who at their final meeting declared Bruckner the equal of Beethoven.

Katharine Hanrahan Open Rehearsal is a working rehearsal. The pieces rehearsed are at the conductor’s discretion.

Buy Tickets



Ruhe sanft mein ganzes Leben from Zaïde


Trostlos schluchzet Philomel from Zaïde


Tiger! Wetze nur die Klauen from Zaïde


Symphony No. 7