Primary tabs

MTT & Trifonov: Rachmaninoff & John Adams

San Francisco Symphony

San Francisco Symphony MTT & Trifonov: Rachmaninoff & John Adams

Witness the coming together of extraordinary artists. MTT leads the Orchestra in the World premiere of a new work by one of America's most celebrated and oft-performed living composers, John Adams.

Then, fiery Daniil Trifonov tackles a concerto by a pianist widely considered to be among the greatest of all time: Sergei Rachmaninoff. It was almost 100 years ago that Rachmaninoff took a seat in New York’s Aeolian Hall for the premiere of a new kind of music, one that blended jazz and classical idioms. That piece was George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue. Two years later, Rachmaninoff answered with his athletic Fourth Piano Concerto, a blend of American jazz, Russian folksong, Orthodox chant, and tonal Modernism.

Rounding out the evening with a classic, MTT conducts Robert Schumann’s five-movement Symphony No. 3, an optimistic and buoyant vision of the Rhine.

Additional Dates:
Thu September 19, 2019 2:00pm
Davies Symphony Hall
Fri September 20, 2019 8:00pm
Davies Symphony Hall
Sat September 21, 2019 8:00pm
Davies Symphony Hall

Buy Tickets


John Adams

I Still Dance (Co-commission by SFS & Carnegie Hall, World Premiere)


Piano Concerto No. 4 Piano Concerto No. 4


Symphony No. 3, Rhenish