Primary tabs

Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra

Stanford Live

Stanford Live Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra

"The entire program dazzled under Egarr’s proclivity for lively interpretations...” —SF Examiner

Imagine being in Leipzig, in Zimmermann’s Coffeehouse, and watching Bach himself perform the “Coffee Cantata” while enjoying your favorite latte. Richard Egarr pairs this lighthearted vocal work with some of Bach’s grandest instrumental music. Joined by the extraordinary talents of Nola Richardson, James Reese, and Cody Quattlebaum—all rising stars out of Yale or Juilliard voice programs—Eggar concocts another powerful brew of Bach’s brilliant music from the bench of the harpsichord.

Richard Egarr, conductor & harpsichord
Nola Richardson, soprano
James Reese, tenor
Cody Quattlebaum, bass-baritone

  • Venue: Bing Concert Hall
  • Date: Wed February 12, 2020 7:30pm
  • City: Stanford
  • Price Range: $32-$120
Additional Dates:
Wed March 11, 2020 7:30pm
Bing Concert Hall

Buy Tickets



Harpsichord Concerto No. 7 in G minor, BWV 1058


Cantata No. 211, Schweigt stille, plaudert nicht, BWV 211, “Coffee Cantata”


Harpsichord Concerto No. 1 in D minor, BWV 1052


Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068


Richard Egarr

Conductor & Harpsichord

Cody Quattlebaum