Aryeh Nussbaum Cohen Sings Bach

Presented by American Bach Soloists

Aryeh Nussbaum Cohen Sings Bach

The amazing countertenor, Aryeh Nussbaum Cohen, joins American Bach to sing the music of a composer that he holds close to his heart. Aryeh’s love for Bach is deep and profound, and so this opportunity to hear him perform two superb Bach solo cantatas is priceless.

Unequivocally one of Bach's most moving and haunting solo cantatas, Ich habe genug ("I have enough") presents a soul who has experienced life's blessings and who, having seen and felt enlightenment, is ready to pass into the next realm, rejoicing in his readiness. The music tugs on our empathy and compassion while, at the same time, gently encourages our own wishes for bliss.

With perhaps the most startling initial chord in any of Bach's compositions, the early cantata Widerstehe doch der Sünde("Stand steadfast against transgression") is a work of outstanding effects and chromatic harmony. Bach called upon his youthful inspiration and contrapuntal mastery to create a soul-stirring and compelling admonishment to do good.

Perfectly paired with Bach’s cantatas, the program also includes the dynamic Concerto in C Minor for Oboe & Violin and richly sonorous works by German composers Johann Heinrich Schmelzer and Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber performed by violinists YuEun Gemma Kim and Tomà Iliev.

Advance ticket sales receive automatic $5 discounts, so purchase in advance and save.

City: Davis
Price Range:

Program Items

Bach Ich habe genug, Cantata 82
Bach Widerstehe doch der Sünde, Cantata 54
Bach Concerto in C Minor for Oboe and Violin
Biber Violin Sonata No. 6 in C Minor
Schmelzer Sonata IV from Sonatae Unarum Fidium
Schmelzer Sonata for Three Violins


Aryeh Nussbaum Cohen countertenor
American Bach Soloists orchestra
YuEun Gemma Kim violin
Tomà Iliev violin
Stephen Hammer oboe
Jeffrey Thomas conductor

Davis Community Church

Davis Community Church

412 C Street
Davis, CA 95616
United States