Berkeley Baroque Strings Presents the Bach Family

Presented by Berkeley Baroque Strings

The Berkeley Baroque Strings enthusiastically presents an afternoon of music by the Bach family. The 2021-22 season will open with Johann Sebastian Bach’s “Orchestral Suite in C Major.” His son Johann Christian Bach’s “Concerto for Harpsichord and Strings No. 5 in E-flat Major” will be performed by soloist John Phillips. “Overture #1 in g minor” by his second cousin Johann Bernhard Bach will feature violinist Titia Martin. Rounding out the program will be works by his son Carl Philipp Emmanuel Bach and by his first cousin once removed Johann Michael Bach.

Under the music direction of Kati Kyme, frequent leader of the Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra and member of the New Esterhazy Quartet, the chamber orchestra is an affiliate of the San Francisco Early Music Society.

Masks are required, as is proof of vaccination (no QR code reader).


City: Berkeley
Price Range:
$20, $10 students, children under 12 free

Program Items

Johann Sebastian Bach Orchestral Suite in C Major
J.C. Bach Concerto for Harpsichord & Strings No. 5 in E-flat Major
J.B. Bach Overture #1 in g minor
J.M. Bach Sonata a 4 in g minor
C.P.E. Bach Symphony II in B-flat Major


John Phillips Harpsichord soloist
Titia Martin Violin soloist

First Congregational Church of Berkeley

First Congregational Church of Berkeley

2345 Channing Way
Berkeley, CA 94704
United States