Diablo Symphony Ensembles: Schubert, Ellington and More

Presented by Diablo Symphony Orchestra

DSO Chamber Music, Digital Concert

"First Thursday" Digital Premiere, May 6,  1, 7:30 p.m. – Another chance to explore and love chamber music as ensembles from the DSO’s brass, wind and string sections treat us to a second journey through a range of chamber music styles, including an arrangement of music by Duke Ellington (1899-1974).  

Other works include Franz Schubert's Cello string quintet, a piano trio by Eric Ewazen (1954-) and a suite for winds by David Uber (1921-2007).  Music Director Matilda Hofman will discuss the music and catch up with Diablo Symphony musicians Anne Koeller, Dean Boysen, Chris Diggins, and Wendy Jacobsen. You can join the program at 7:30 directly through YouTube link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w3fsjtEVIQY, or through the DSO’s website www.diablosymphony.org (just scroll down a bit and click the picture under the title “Chamber Music Concert – DSO Digital Premiere).  

Ensemble performers will be Sara Usher (violin), Lauren West (violin), Anne Koeller (viola), Christine Hsia (cello), Eileen Benway (cello), Alan Kingsley (flute), Bob Satterford (horn), Kirsten West (piano), Marianne Beeler (flute), Eva Langfeldt (oboe), Chris Diggins (clarinet), Dean Boysen (trumpet), Wendy Jacobsen (bassoon).


To catch up on the Symphony’s full 2020-2021 Digital Premiere series – now a YouTube playlist! – click this link and select the concert of your choice:  

And visit the DSO’s YouTube channel at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDZUIqlP1LYp5tuFusha0rw to find a wide range of works presented by the DSO and an exciting array of collaborators and guest artists – and please subscribe (no charge) to this ever-expanding channel highlighting the oldest aggregation of highly trained volunteer musicians in Contra Costa County and concerts that appeal to all ages.

Price Range:

Program Items

Franz Schubert Cello String Quintet in C major
Eric Ewazen Piano Trio
Duke Ellington Take the "A" Train etc
David Uber Suite for Winds


Sara Usher Violin
Lauren West Violin
Anne Koeller Viola
Christine Hsia Cello
Eileen Benway Cello
Alan Kingsley Flute
Bob Satterford Horn
Kirsten West Piano
Marianne Beeler Flute
Eva Langfeldt Oboe
Chris Diggins Clarinet
Dean Boysen Trumpet
Wendy Jacobsen Bassoon