Ensemble Intercontemporain: Green Umbrella

Presented by Los Angeles Philharmonic

Regarded as the world’s leading contemporary music group, Ensemble Intercontemporain, make a rare appearance to present Olga Neuwirth’s score for the 1924 silent film Die Stadt ohne Juden, based on the novel of the same name by Hugo Bettauer from 1922. Under their music director Matthias Pintscher, the French musicians will accompany the movie directed by Hans Karl Breslauer with Neuwirth’s music that is “both touching and harsh, warm-hearted and open, amusing and furious, involved and distanced, humorous and sad all at once.”

City: Los Angeles

Program Items

Olga Neuwirth Die Stadt ohne Juden (The City Without Jews)


Matthias Pintscher Conductor
Ensemble Intercontemporain

Walt Disney Concert Hall

Walt Disney Concert Hall

111 South Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90071
United States