Mozart and Orbón with Dudamel: Pan-American Music Initiative

Presented by Los Angeles Philharmonic

In a program that shows off the LA Phil both as soloists and an ensemble, Dudamel navigates John Adams’ virtuosic I Still Dance, which the composer described as having a Baroque toccata on steroids with a disco beat underneath. Next, two quintessential Mozart works cast a spotlight on members of the LA Phil: a double concerto featuring the LA Phil’s harpist and Principal Flute followed by the Serenade No. 6 that features a string quartet of LA Phil musicians as soloists. Finally, Dudamel leads Tres versiones sinfónicas by Cuban composer Julián Orbón—a theme and variations drawing on music from French Gregorian chant to Congolese drumming.

City: Los Angeles

Program Items

John Adams I Still Dance
Mozart Concerto for Flute and Harp
Mozart Serenade No. 6, “Serenata notturna”
Orbón Tres versiones sinfónicas


Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra
Gustavo Dudamel Conductor
Denis Bouriakov Flute
Emmanuel Ceysson Harp

Walt Disney Concert Hall

Walt Disney Concert Hall

111 South Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90071
United States