Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg | Chamber Music of Antonin Dvořák

Presented by Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts

Alexander String Quartet and Robert Greenberg pose for the camera.

A major artistic presence in its home base of San Francisco, the Alexander String Quartet is equally beloved in its second home, the Mondavi Center. This year the quartet appears with new violist David Samuel joining cellist Sandy Wilson, and violinists Fred Lifsitz and Zakarias Grafilo. All Alexander String Quartet performances will take place in Jackson Hall.

Robert Greenberg 

Greenberg has performed, taught and lectured extensively across North America and Europe. He is currently music historian-in-residence with San Francisco Performances, where he has lectured and performed since 1994.

The Chamber Music of Antonin Dvořák 

No nineteenth century composer wrote chamber music more joyful, more melodically brilliant, more accessible, and more compositionally sound than did the Bohemian born and bred Antonin Dvořák  (1841-1904). Protégé of Johannes Brahms, father of nine children (all with his first and only wife); beloved teacher, conductor, violinist, and pianist, Dvořák was perhaps, along with Joseph Haydn, the nicest, kindest, least neurotic person ever to become a major composer. Like Haydn, Dvořák created a body of musical work remarkable for its straightforward expressive content, its humor, humanity, grace and technical polish.  

Sunday, December 5, 2pm: 
D Minor String Quartet, Op. 34 (1877) 
E-flat Major String Quartet, Op. 51 (1879) 
Sunday, January 30, 2pm: 
Cypresses for String Quartet (1865/1887) 
Bass Quintet, Op. 77 (1875/1878)* 
Sunday, May 15, 2pm: 
Bagatelles, Op. 47 for two violins, cello, harmonium or piano (1878)* 
Piano Quartet, Op. 87 (1889)* 

*guest artists to be announced at a later date  

City: Davis

Jackson Hall, Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts

Jackson Hall, Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts

1 Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
United States