Gabriela Montero in Recital

Presented by Philharmonic Society of Orange County

Gabriela Montero at the piano

Grammy-nominated pianist Gabriela Montero brings her newly premiered Westward program to the West Coast, paying homage to three prominent Russian composers who immigrated to the West in the early twentieth century to escape oppression in their home country. Montero’s carefully selected program includes pieces rarely heard on this side of the globe and concludes with a real-time improvised score alongside a viewing of Charlie Chaplin’s film The Immigrant.

Health and safety policies may vary venue to venue, and will be reassessed on an ongoing basis as new public health guidance is issued from state and local authorities. For the latest information on health and safety policies at Philharmonic Society partner venues, please check the Philharmonic Society website.

Price Range:
Tickets start at $25

Program Items

Sergei Prokofiev Sarcasms, Five Pieces for Piano, Op. 17
Sergei Prokofiev Piano Sonata No. 2 in D minor, Op. 14
Sergei Rachmaninoff Piano Sonata No. 2, Op. 36
Igor Stravinsky Piano Sonata in F-sharp minor
Charlie Chaplin The Immigrant (Film screening with improvised piano score by Gabriela Montero)


Gabriela Montero Piano