Dvořák's New World Symphony

Presented by San Francisco Symphony

In his New World Symphony, Antonín Dvořák frames his impressions of the music he heard in America through the lens of his Bohemian roots. Led by Joshua Weilerstein, the program opens with Alexi Kenney performing Jean Sibelius’ Violin Concerto, an impassioned showpiece written by a composer whose first love was the violin.

This concert is also being performed at Frost Amphitheater on Fri, Jul 7, 2023 at 7:30pm. LEARN MORE

City: San Francisco

Program Items

Pavel Haas Study for Strings
Jean Sibelius Violin Concerto
Antonín Dvořák Symphony No. 9, From the New World


Joshua Weilerstein Conductor
Alexi Kenney Violin
San Francisco Symphony

Davies Symphony Hall

Davies Symphony Hall

201 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102
United States