Interplay: Pekka Kuusisto

Presented by San Francisco Symphony

Innovative interactive tech turns each performance of Convergence into a unique, unrepeatable event. Conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen, soloist Pekka Kuusisto, and composer-inventor Jesper Nordin’s cutting-edge electronics come together in this radical reinvention of the violin concerto. In Naïve and Sentimental Music, dedicated to Salonen, John Adams celebrates a similar creative impulse: spontaneity, the spirit of free play.

Composer/developer Jesper Nordin comfortably straddles the worlds of concert music and gaming, and his twin interests have found a home in his Reactional Music platform. In addition to creating custom in-the-moment music for gamers, Reactional Music also allows unprecedented interaction between live performers and technology as gestures inspire the surrounding musical atmosphere. Nordin’s violin concerto offers a fascinating opportunity to see and hear Reactional Music in action.

City: San Francisco

Program Items

Jesper Nordin Convergence [SF Symphony Commission and World Premiere]
John Adams Naïve and Sentimental Music


Esa-Pekka Salonen Conductor
Pekka Kuusisto Violin
San Francisco

Davies Symphony Hall

Davies Symphony Hall

201 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102
United States