Johan Dalene

Presented by San Francisco Symphony

Johan Dalene, First Prize winner at the 2019 Carl Nielsen Competition, makes his Davies Symphony Hall debut with a solo recital as part of the Shenson Spotlight Series. Opening with Edvard Grieg’s Third Violin Sonata, beloved for its lyricism and its rustic exuberance, Dalene moves on to Arvo Pärt’s haunting Fratres, one of the composer’s most moving works, along with Maurice Ravel’s jazz-inspired Sonata for Violin and Piano in G major. 


City: San Francisco

Program Items

Edvard Grieg Violin Sonata No. 3
Arvo Pärt Fratres
Maurice Ravel Violin Sonata No. 2 in G Major


Johan Dalene Violin
Giorgi Gigashvili Piano

Davies Symphony Hall

Davies Symphony Hall

201 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102
United States