MTT & Jean-Yves Thibaudet

Presented by San Francisco Symphony

Transcendent and voluptuous, Claude Debussy’s Prélude à L’Après-midi d’un faune is imbued with a gentle luster that lights the music from within. Olivier Messiaen’s Trois petites liturgies de la Présence Divine intermingles birdsong with spiritual mysticism, while Heitor Villa-Lobos’ Chôros No. 10 evokes a Brazilian rainforest. Jean-Yves Thibaudet joins Michael Tilson Thomas for Debussy’s Fantaisie—a piano concerto in all but name—inspired by the sounds of Javanese gamelan. 

City: San Francisco

Program Items

Claude Debussy Prélude à L’Après-midi d’un faune
Olivier Messiaen Trois petites liturgies de la Présence Divine
Claude Debussy Fantasie for Piano and Orchestra
Heitor Villa-Lobos Chôros No. 10


Michael Tilson Thomas Conductor
Jean-Yves Thibaudet Piano
San Francisco Symphony Chorus
San Francisco Symphony

Davies Symphony Hall

Davies Symphony Hall

201 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102
United States