Symphony San Jose presents Nakamatsu Plays Grieg

Presented by Symphony San Jose

Jon Nakamatsu performs Grieg's Piano Concerto with Symphony San Jose. Photo by Christine Steine.

San Jose’s own Cliburn gold medal winner Jon Nakamatsu reprises the first work he ever played with Symphony San Jose: Grieg’s Piano Concerto. (A critic once noted that the work ‘brought smile after smile to Nakamatsu’s face.’) The program ends with Florence Price’s pioneering Symphony No. 1, skillfully incorporating spirituals, folksong and syncopated African American dance rhythms into a classical structure.

Conductor Aram Demirjian bio:

Pianist Jon Nakamatsu bio:


City: San Jose
Price Range:
$55 to $115

Program Items

David Amram Jhaptal
Edvard Grieg Piano Concerto
Florence Price Symphony No. 1


Aram Demirjian Conductor
Jon Nakamatsu Soloist, piano

California Theatre

California Theatre

345 South 1st Street
San Jose, CA 95113
United States