Primary tabs

Family Friendly

Symphonic II: Britten & Bernstein

Berkeley Symphony

Berkeley Symphony  Symphonic II: Britten & Bernstein

Guest conductor Jonathon Heyward takes the podium for Britten & Bernstein. Berkeley Symphony presents the world premiere of Disillusioned Dreamer, a newly commissioned orchestral piece by Hannah Kendall, inspired by a phrase from Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man, followed by Berkeley Symphony’s first performance of Benjamin Britten’s Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes. Pianist Andrew Tyson makes his Berkeley Symphony debut to perform Bernstein’s Symphony No. 2 for Piano and Orchestra, The Age of Anxiety.

First prize winner in 2015 of the 54th International Competition for Young Conductors of Besançon aged only 23, Jonathon Heyward was appointed in September 2016 as Assistant Conductor at the Hallé Orchestra, which has extended his contract for a third year. A 2017-18 Dudamel Conducting Fellow, Jonathon made his conducting debut with the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra in December 2017, stepping in last minute for three concerts at the Walt Disney Concert Hall with soloist Hilary Hahn, to great acclaim. Jonathon Heyward studied cello before he took up conducting at the Boston Conservatory under the guidance of
Andrew Altenbach. He followed this with postgraduate studies at the Royal Academy of Music, London, from where he graduated in June 2016.

Described as "...intricately and skillfully wrought" by The Sunday Times, Hannah Kendall’s music has attracted the attention of some of the UK’s finest groups including London Philharmonic Orchestra, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, BBC Singers, and Philharmonia Orchestra, with performances at the
Royal Festival Hall, Queen Elizabeth Hall, Purcell Room, The Royal Opera House's Linbury Studio Theatre, The Place, Westminster, Canterbury, Gloucester and St Paul’s Cathedrals, Westminster Abbey and Cheltenham Music Festival. In 2015, Hannah won the Women of the Future Award for Arts and Culture. Upcoming works include Verdala for London Sinfonietta, which will be premiered on 21 July 2018 at BBC Proms.

Hailed by BBC Radio 3 as "a real poet of the piano," Andrew Tyson is emerging as a distinctive and important new musical voice. Andrew Tyson’s busy 2017-18 schedule takes him throughout the United States and Europe. Highlights this season include his Vienna Konzerthaus debut with the Haydn Philharmonic Orchestra, a performance of Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2 with the Orchestra della Svizzera italiana under the baton of Vladimir
Ashkenazy, as soloist with the Kansas City Symphony and the Boise Philharmonic, as well as recitals at the Caramoor Center for Music and the Arts, the Miami International Piano Festival, and on the Gilmore Rising Stars Recital Series.

Buy Tickets


Hannah Kendall

Disillusioned Dreamer "World Premiere"

Benjamin Britten

Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes

Leonard Bernstein

Symphony No. 2 for Piano and Orchestra, The Age of Anxiety


Jonathon Heyward

Guest Conductor

Workflow history
Revision ID Field name Date Old state Broken handler workflow_node_history.sid By Broken handler workflow_node_history.comment Operations