Primary tabs

Pictures & Percussion

San Francisco Symphony

San Francisco Symphony Pictures & Percussion

In 1922, the genius orchestrator Maurice Ravel had his way with a suite for piano by the gifted—and capricious—Modest Mussorgsky. Coaxing radiant hues out of unorthodox combinations of instruments, Ravel transformed Mussorgsky’s monochrome pieces into one of the most popular works for orchestra. How did he do it? He leaned into the ensemble’s soloists. This week, the San Francisco Symphony spotlights the artistry and eloquent precision of its principal players. In a parade of famous solos, the Symphony presents Ravel’s ingenious orchestration of Pictures at an Exhibition. 

Guest conductor Cristian Măcelaru keeps the spotlight on the Symphony’s own with a world-premiere concerto featuring SFS Principal Percussion Jacob Nissly. An SFS commission, this concerto by L.A.-based composer Adam Schoenberg is part of the SF Symphony’s ongoing exploration of the new American Sound. Setting the virtuosic tone is a spritely work by Lili Boulanger, who in 1913 became the first woman to win the prestigious Prix de Rome.

Additional Dates:
Fri October 18, 2019 8:00pm
Davies Symphony Hall
Sat October 19, 2019 8:00pm
Davies Symphony Hall

Buy Tickets


Lily Boulanger

D’un matin de printemps

Adam Schoenberg

Losing Earth (SFS Commission, World Premiere)

Mussorgsky (orch. Ravel)

Pictures at an Exhibition

Workflow history
Revision ID Field name Date Old state Broken handler workflow_node_history.sid By Broken handler workflow_node_history.comment Operations