Primary tabs

First Time Concert Goer Hot Deal

The World of Grażyna Bacewicz: Evolution and Persistence - Her Legacy

Bard Music West

Bard Music West The World of Grażyna Bacewicz: Evolution and Persistence - Her Legacy

Program Three: Evolution and Persistence - Her Legacy
Hear Bacewicz’s most groundbreaking work written at the end of her life, including the Quartet for Four Cellos and the spectacularly virtuosic Four Caprices performed by Luosha Fang, recent winner of the Tokyo International Viola Competition. Then reach into the future to discover Bacewicz’s legacy as an inspiration for a generation of Polish women composers, including Hanna Kulenty, Marta Ptaszyńska, Agata Zubel, and others.

The Festival - The World of Grażyna Bacewicz, October 18 and 19
Discover the story of one of Poland's most beloved and overlooked composers, Grażyna Bacewicz (1909–69), in a film screening and three chamber music concerts interweaving storytelling and music. Through the fire of war and political oppression, Bacewicz wrote over two hundred works ranging from pure virtuosic fun to terribly moving statements on humanity.

Experience the world-class artistry of our festival musicians from the Bay Area and beyond, including the New York-based Tesla Quartet and Tokyo International Viola Competition winner, violinist/violist Luosha Fang.

Buy Tickets


Grażyna Bacewicz

Quartet for four cellos; String Quartet No. 7; Four Caprices for solo viola

Marta Ptaszyńska

Katarynka for glockenspiel

Witold Lutosławski

Dance Preludes for clarinet and piano

Agata Zuabel

Cadenza for solo violin

Hanna Kulenty

Van for piano four hands