Primary tabs

Alexander String Quartet

Morrison Artists Series

Morrison Artists Series Alexander String Quartet

The Alexander String Quartet open the 2019-2020 Morrison Artists Series season with a concert of music by Mozart, Shostakovich and Beethoven. A pre-concert talk will be presented at 2:00 PM in Knuth Recital Hall. Free admission but tickets must be reserved.

The ALEXANDER STRING QUARTET has performed in the major music capitals of five continents, securing its standing among the world’s premier ensembles. Widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart, and Shostakovich, the quartet’s recordings of the Beethoven, Bartók, and Shostakovich cycles have won international critical acclaim. Since 1989, the Alexander String Quartet has been Ensemble in Residence in the College of Liberal and Creative Arts at San Francisco State University.

Mozart: String Quartet No. 19 in C major, K. 465 “Dissonant” (1785)
Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 8 in C minor, Op. 110 (1960)
Beethoven: String Quartet No. 9 in C major, Op. 59, No. 3 (1806)

Buy Tickets