Quest: Music by Women and Nonbinary Composers

Presented by Ensemble for These Times

Multicolor exploding image with a white staircase at the left, concert title center, and E4TT blue and black logo at the lower right

Ensemble for These Times starts 2024 with a new edition of its annual  concert of music by women and nonbinary composers.

The program will feature: the World Premiere of a new piano trio by Tamara MacLeod (b. 1999), "Spent," focusing on the climate crisis, global warming, and resource depletion; works from E4TT's newest Call for Scores with Luna Composition Lab alums; and music by Jennifer Higdon (b. 1962), Tania Leon (b. 1943), Jessica Mao (b. 1998), Claudia Montero (1962-2021), Niloufar Nourbakhsh (b. 1992), Elena Riu, Alex Temple (b. 1983), and Florence Price (1899-1952). 

Guest violinist Jennifer Redondas will join E4TT (soprano Nanette McGuinness, cellist Abigail Monroe and pianist Margaret Halbig). 

The concert will also be livestreamed at no charge on E4TT's YouTube channel.

City: San Francisco
Price Range:

Program Items

Tamara McLeod Spent
Jennifer Higdon Blue Hills of Mist
Niloufar Nourbakhsh Quest
Alex Temple Microphages
Elena Riu La salsita de Sr. Ligeti
Claudia Montero Soy
Florence Price An April Day
Tania Leon Elegia a Paul Robeson
Jessica Mao Fulgurance


Nanette McGuinness soprano
Abigail Monroe cello
Margaret Halbig piano
Jennifer Redondas violin

Center for New Music

Center for New Music

55 Taylor Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
United States