Darius Milhaud Concert 2021

Presented by Mills College Music Department

Elderly Darius Milhaud holding score with mouth agape.

The great, influential, and prolific French composer, Darius Milhaud, taught at Mills College from 1940 to 1971. The Mills Music Department presents an annual concert honoring Milhaud’s music in programs including works by related composers. This year’s Darius Milhaud Concert on September 24 focuses on these pieces by Milhaud: Ségoviana, op.366, guitar; Sonatina pastorale, op.383, violin; Sonata, op.437, harp; 4 romances sans paroles, op.129, piano; and is augmented by these works for solo percussion by former Mills faculty composers: Roscoe Mitchell’s Bells for New Orleans; excerpt from Theme Park, by Alvin Curran; Solo for Anthony Cirone, by Lou Harrison; and Epimoric Quiverings by Chris Brown. Performers are pianist Belle Bulwinkle, harpist Jennifer Ellis, violinist Kate Stenberg, guitarist David Tanenbaum, and percussionist William Winant.

Mills Music Now 2021-2022

Presented by the Mills College Music Department.

This event is FREE and open to the public.

The Concert will be hosted IN-PERSON and via LIVE STREAM.

Registration is required. In-Person Capacity is limited.  

Masks are required of all guests, regardless of COVID-19 vaccination status, indoors on the Mills College campus.

Program Items

Darius Milhaud Ségoviana, op.366 (1957)
Darius Milhaud Sonatina pastorale, op.383 (1960)
Darius Milhaud Sonata, op.437 (1971)
Darius Milhaud 4 romances sans paroles, op.129 (1933)
Roscoe Mitchell Bells for New Orleans
Alvin Curran Theme Park for solo percussion – Part IV
Lou Harrison Solo to Anthony Cirone
Chris Brown Epimoric Quiverings


David Tanenbaum guitar
Belle Bulwinkle piano
William Winant percussion
Kate Stenberg violin
Jennifer Ellis harp