Alexander String Quartet with Robert Greenberg

Presented by Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts

The Alexander String Quartet and Robert Greenberg look back 100 years to the tumultuous social and political era of the early 20th century—times not unlike our own—and explore enduring works of the great music it produced. Programs will include works by Debussy, Ravel, Webern, Schoenberg, Sibelius, and Nielsen. 

France - Dec 3 2023
   Claude Debussy: String Quartet in G Minor (1893) 
   Maurice Ravel: String Quartet in F (1903) 

Scandinavia - Feb 25 2024
   Carl Nielsen: String Quartet No. 1, Op. 13 (1889) 
   Jean Sibelius: String Quartet No. 2, Op. 56 "Voces Intimae" (1909) 

Austria - May 5 2024
   Arnold Schoenberg: String Quartet No. 1, Op. 7 (1905) 
   Anton Webern: Langsamer Satz (1905) 
   Anton Webern: Five Movements, Op. 5 (1909) 

A major artistic presence in its home base of San Francisco, the Alexander String Quartet is equally beloved in its second home, the Mondavi Center. 

All Alexander String Quartet performances will take place in Jackson Hall and will feature Robert Greenberg’s lecture on each piece followed by a full performance of the same piece. 

Robert Greenberg 
Greenberg has performed, taught and lectured extensively across North America and Europe. He is currently music historian-in-residence with San Francisco Performances, where he has lectured and performed since 1994. 

City: Davis

Jackson Hall, Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts

Jackson Hall, Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts

1 Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
United States