Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Presented by Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts

Vasily Petrenko and Olga Kern pose for the camera.

Britten: Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Minor, Op. 23

Elgar: Variations on an Original Theme, Op. 36 (Enigma Variations)

Celebrating its 75th anniversary, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra returns to the Mondavi Center with music director Vasily Petrenko leading a program of English and Russian. Britten rewrote the Four Sea Interludes to stand on their own from Peter Grimes, his masterful opera. Pianist Olga Kern joins the RPO as soloist on Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1, one of the most beloved classical works. The Enigma Variations, 14 musical sketches of the composer’s friends, was the work that brought Elgar worldwide acclaim.

City: Davis


Vasily Petrenko Music Conductor
Olga Kern Piano

Jackson Hall, Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts

Jackson Hall, Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts

1 Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
United States