"Image & Memory"

Presented by San Francisco Contemporary Music Players

This season, we embrace the Contemporary Players’ roots as a performing presence in the museums and gallery spaces of San Francisco, by highlighting the individual artistry of our musicians in a space surrounded by contemporary visual art. This intimate concert experience offers the chance to encounter and discuss music and art in simultaneity, with time before the concert to view art pieces and engage in conversation about the connection points between visual and auditory elements, followed by a performance from featured artists in our all-star cast of Contemporary Players virtuosi. 

Featuring: Susan Freier, violin and Stephen Harrison, cello 

Augusta Read Thomas – Silent Moon for violin and cello (2006) 
Gabriela Lena Frank – Suite Mestiza for Violin Solo (2017)
Sofia Gubaidulina – Rejoice! Freue dich! Sonata for Violin and Cello (1981)
Libby Larsen – Scudding for solo cello (1980)
Julia Adolphe – Smile Softly, Softly Smile for solo violin (2021)
Erwin Schulhoff – Duo for Violin & Cello (1925)

City: San Francisco
Price Range:

The Lab

The Lab

2948 16th Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
United States