Igor Levit Plays Beethoven

Presented by San Francisco Symphony

Igor Levit begins his residency with the San Francisco Symphony with Ludwig van Beethoven’s Fifth Piano Concerto, a work that rose from the ravages of the Napoleonic wars as a musical testament to the people’s heroism and resilience. Then, Esa-Pekka Salonen leads Beethoven’s expansive Symphony No. 3, Eroica, where the struggle between good and evil plays out in the orchestra as heroic themes battle inner demons that lurk not far below. 


City: San Francisco

Program Items

Piano Concerto No. 5 Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 3, 'Eroica' Ludwig van Beethoven


Esa-Pekka Salonen Conductor
Igor Levit Piano
San Francisco Symphony

Davies Symphony Hall

Davies Symphony Hall

201 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102
United States