Igor Levit Plays Busoni

Presented by San Francisco Symphony

Artist-in-residence Igor Levit joins Esa-Pekka Salonen and the Orchestra for Ferruccio Busoni’s towering Piano Concerto, one of the most outsized works ever written. Combining piano soloist, chorus, and a substantial orchestra, the piece gains momentum and excitement as evocations of Busoni’s musical forebears pile atop one another. Requiring formidable technique and showcasing breathtaking scope, it is without a doubt one of music’s overlooked wonders.


City: San Francisco

Program Items

Ferruccio Busoni Piano Concerto [San Francisco Symphony Premiere]


Esa-Pekka Salonen Conductor
Igor Levit Piano
San Francisco Symphony Chorus
San Francisco Symphony

Davies Symphony Hall

Davies Symphony Hall

201 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102
United States