Music for the Royal Fireworks

Presented by San Francisco Symphony

Jane Glover leads the SF Symphony in a program of Baroque favorites. The SF Symphony Chorus stars in J.S. Bach’s sublimely joyous Magnificat, a work as robust as it is poised, while Concertmaster Alexander Barantschik and Principal Oboe Eugene Izotov take center stage for one of Bach’s double concertos. Stacy Garrop’s Spectacle of Light takes inspiration from a drawing of a pyrotechnical spectacle in 1749, the very same fireworks show for which George Frideric Handel wrote Music for the Royal Fireworks.  


City: San Francisco

Program Items

Johann Sebastian Bach Magnificat, BWV 243
Johann Sebastian Bach Concerto for Oboe and Violin in C minor, BWV 1060
Stacy Garrop Spectacle of Light [San Francisco Symphony Premiere]
George Frideric Handel Music for the Royal Fireworks


Jane Glover Conductor
Alexander Barantschik Violin
Eugene Izotov Oboe
San Francisco Symphony Chorus
San Francisco Symphony

Davies Symphony Hall

Davies Symphony Hall

201 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102
United States