Centuries of Sound

Presented by Trinity Alps Chamber Music Festival

The program, called Centuries of Sound, will explore masterpieces of classical chamber music repertoire alongside a variety of newer and exciting works. The ensemble will present Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Piano Quartet in E-flat, a work that represents the height of balance and elegance of the classical era. Scarfe, the pianist as well as director of the festival, will then move to a small foot-powered reed organ for another quartet of Bagatelles, Op. 47 by the Czech composer Antonín Dvořák. The same quartet of strings and reed organ will again be on display for Ocean Park, a meditative work by Bay Area composer Danny Clay that was commissioned by the Trinity Alps Chamber Music Festival in 2016. The music of John Adams gives rhythmic energy to the meditative mood, with his violin and piano duo Road Movies, performed by Scarfe and Sierra Quartet violinist Rochelle Nguyen. Watson and Scarfe will be joined by clarinetist James Pytko for the premiere performance of another festival commission, Watson's own Triptych, A Priori: Logic of the Interior. The programs will also feature an incredible blend of classical chamber music with old-timey American hillbilly bluegrass, with John Mackey's Wrong Mountain Stomp for string trio, a work that tells an old Wild West tale of adventure, heartbreak, and excitement.

Program Items

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Piano Quartet in E-flat, K. 493
Antonin Dvorak Bagatelles, Op. 47
Roseminna Watson Triptych: A Priori
Danny Clay Ocean Park
Jessie Montgomery Duo for Violin and Cello
John Adams Road Movies for Violin and Piano
John Mackey Wrong Mountain Stomp for string trio


Ian Scarfe Piano, Harmonium
Roseminna Watson Violin, Composer
Christina Simpson Viola
Charles Akert Cello
James Pytko Clarinet
Rochelle Nguyen Violin